Forest of Reading 2022

The Forest of Reading® is Canada’s largest recreational reading program. This initiative by the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers ten reading programs for all ages, in both English and French. Each program consists of popular fiction and non-fiction titles.

With 270,000 readers taking part every year, this popular program offers readers the opportunity to celebrate Canadian authors and to vote on their favourite books.
The program is broken down into ten categories, each of which is associated with a grade/age range. Participants are encouraged to read these titles and vote for their favourite books.

Voting will take place in April 2022, and the Ontario Library Association will announce the winners in May 2022. To participate, students should check with their teacher or school library. To search for or borrow a nominee from MPL, click below!.

Blue Spruce Award

JK-Grade 2, picture books

For many children, this is their first introduction to the world of books. This program promotes reading for enjoyment and begins to develop a child’s skill in evaluating a picture book based on story, text and pictures.

Silver Birch Express

Grades 3-4, fiction, non-fiction

The Silver Birch Express Award is unique in providing a mix of fiction and non-fiction titles for readers at different reading levels. Especially for those young people in Grades 3 to 4, or the reluctant reader.  This program is sure to get them excited about reading!

Silver Birch Fiction

Grades 5-6, fiction

The Silver Birch Fiction Award is meant for readers aged 8 to 12, (Grades 3-6). One of the Forest of Reading’s most popular award programs, this is the one that started it all! Geared towards those in Grades 5 and 6, from fantastical, fun titles to serious, life-learning tales, this program provides a variety of stories for readers to enjoy.

Red Maple

Grades 7-8, fiction

The Red Maple Award reading program is offered for the enjoyment of students ages 12 to 13, in Grades 7 and 8. This program includes a Fiction list every year. This program aims to get readers engaging in conversation around the books and encourages them to use critical thinking while reading.